3 Comments

Thanks for doing this, I'm excited for your new venture. Yours is the first blog I've ever "subscribed" to. My reason for doing so has to do with my answer to your question. Access & context.

While Eleanor mentions commentary, I'd like to see context with that commentary. Personally I don't need knee-jerk click-bait hot licks on the obvious, I'm more inclined to want to see the overarching theme at play when something happens. Like the game on the field itself, there's always more going on with the club than just what's in front of us in the moment.

Sometimes it will be something attributable, sometimes not, and sometimes your opinion or a hunch based on your knowledge of the people involved. Just let us know when you can, which it is. Thanks again.

Expand full comment
author

I'm not a hot-take guy unless warranted, as was the case last week with Folytnewicz. I like to think I am providing and will provide the stuff you want to see. A lot of the job is reading the tea leaves, like on the Gallo trade/extend situation. I've never thought he would be traded. I might be proven wrong in a few days, but I don't think so. Anyhoo, thanks for subscribing. Not to sound corny, but it means a lot. Don't hesitate to ask a question or even offer constructive criticism. Thanks again.

Expand full comment

Hi Jeff - Best of luck with this new venture. I’d like to see more commentary - the news and profiles are always welcome. But since you’ve covered the team for quite a while you have a wealth background to draw on - and I’d like to know what you really think about decisions the manager and front office make, the draft (don’t get me started) and what you think individual players are really capable of doing (as opposed to the “company line” from the front office). And…since you asked: I loved the Surprise 5 or what ever it was called. Would love to see something like 5 things to watch this week, or 5 things we learned this week, or the 5 worst press boxes in the American League. A once a week feature like that would be great. I’m always full of suggestions aren’t I?

Expand full comment